top of page
Search

Mentorship from Grandmas

Updated: Jul 27, 2021




I have a Grandma. Most people do.


However, I have a Grandma, a mentor and now a business.


This past year my Grandma took me under her wing and convinced me to learn how to sew. I was reticent at first. I'm a high energy girl who likes to climb trees, run around in bare feet and splash in mountain lakes. Sitting in a basement hunched over an archaic looking machine and making products wasn't my style. My parents encouraged me to try. ... Well, ok, they almost forced me to spend time with Grandma, but not quite.


I took the plunge.


I spent the entire morning with my Grandma and came upstairs with an apron that I had made with my own hands. I tried to not smile too big, as I still had to preserve a bit of my former attitude and dignity. But .. I was smiling. I enjoyed it. I enjoyed spending time with Grandma and working and creating something.


Fast forward.


Now I have a business. I'm custom making products like a harvest apron for a fellow vendor or bag for my dad to keep his harmonicas. I'm doing small sewing projects as well like sewing the rip in my brother's shorts, fixing my friend's pants and I even designed my first t-shirt.


It is small right now, but it will grow. I'm making products, selling them at farmers' markets and to friends.


I am loving the journey. I' love having a mentor. I'd love to make something for you!


blessings,


Winter E.




8 views1 comment
bottom of page